All News

Victor Valley Transit Authority Holds Annual Bus Roadeo

  • Robert Luna to Represent VVTA at National Bus Roadeo in Texas!
  • Drivers from Victor Valley Transit Authority competed to see who is the best Bus Driver at their Annual Bus Roadeo.
  • Winning for his 3rd year in a row, Robert Luna took top honors in the Big Bus National Category. 

Victor Valley / Barstow – On Saturday, February 23rd, Victor Valley Transit Authority held its annual Bus Roadeo, a nationwide competition to find the best bus driver in the United States. Held at their Hesperia location, drivers from both the Victor Valley and Barstow competed in one of four classes.

Their large and small cutaway buses competed separately in national (driving over a year) and local (driving less than a year) categories.

Competitions included obstacle courses, curb stopping, reverse challenges, and a diminishing clearance challenge through barrels. The staff of Victor Valley Transit Authority and contracting partner National Express, put in many days and hours planning and executing this event each year.

APTA (American Public Transit Association) International Bus Roadeo committee member Craig Barnes shared, “The purpose of the Roadeo is to enhance safety  and to develop safety consciousness on the part of operators. In addition to the obstacle course, drivers were judged on appearance, and their ability to note safety hazards in a bus that had been purposely rigged by the maintenance department.”

Winning for his 3rd year in a row, Robert Luna took top honors in the Big Bus National Category. He will represent VVTA at both the Regional Roadeo in Torrance on April 18th and the National Roadeo Competition in  San Antonio, Texas, to be held May 14-20, 2020. Other winners in the Big Bus national and local categories included Gordon Irons, John Solorio, Wilder Rodas, Samantha Domcik, and Bryan Powell.

Three winners in the Small Bus National Category will also represent the company at the CalAct Roadeo, which will be held on March 7-8. 2020.
Those participants representing VVTA include Steven Agcaoili, Geneva Barker, and Michelle Turrentine.  Other winners in the Small Bus Category were Kristina Minter, Daysi Duenas, and Robin Murphy. The CalAct Spring Roadeo will feature Cutaway (small bus) and Minivan Drivers from all over the State, with the winner representing California at the National event in Louisville, Kentucky.

Complete Winner List
Big Bus National Category
 1st Place—Robert Luna
2nd Place—Gordon Irons
3rd Place—John Solorio
Big Bus Local Category
 1st Place—Wilder Rodas
2nd Place—Samantha Domcik
3rd Place—Bryan Powell
Small Bus National Category
 1st Place—Steven Agcaoili 
2nd Place—Geneva Barker
3rd Place—Michelle Turrentine
Small Bus Local Category
 1st Place—Kristina Minter
2nd Place—Daysi Duenas
3rd Place—Robin Murphy

To follow updates to this article and more, join our newsgroup on Facebook with over 165,000 members. Like our Facebook page, and Follow us on Instagram and Twitter.

(Scroll Down To Comment)

More Local News

Back to top button