News

California Car Seat Law Changes Effective January 1, 2017

(VVNG.com)- Starting January 1, 2017, children under 2-years-old must be in a rear-facing car seat unless they weigh 40lbs. or more, or are 40 inches tall or more.

The current law states that children under the age of 8 must be buckled into a car seat or a booster in the back seat.

-Children age 8 or older, or who are 4’9″ or taller, may use the vehicle seat belt if it fits properly with the lap belt low on the hips, touching the upper thighs, and the shoulder belt crossing the center of the chest. If children are not tall enough for proper belt fit, they must ride in a booster or car seat.

Statistics show that most children will outgrow an infant seat before the age of 1.

  • The nest step is a convertible car seat.
  • Rear-facing is 5 times safer than forward facing.
  • The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children ride rear-facing to the highest weight or height allowed by the car seat manufacturer.

The fines and penalties for each child under 16 who is not properly secured, parents (if in the car) or drivers can be fined more than $500 and get a point on their driving records.

Please remember the law states EVERYONE in the car must be properly buckled up.

KAITLYN’S LAW – It’s against California law to leave a child under the age of seven alone in the car without supervision of a person at least 12 years old if: The keys are in the ignition or the car is running or there is a significant risk to the child.

 

Leave a comment

Comment(s)

Show More

VVNG Staff

Have a news tip or story idea? We'd love to hear from you! Call (760)998-1598 or email News@vvng.com
Close